School Logo

Term 6 - Australia

A Land Down Under


Why is Australia called the Land Down Under?

Australian Animals

Do you know what kinds of animals live in Australia? They’re pretty different from the animals in the rest of the world. Kangaroos, Koalas, Wallabies, Wombats, Quokkas, Tasmanian Devils...these are MARSUPIALS. That’s a special kind of mammal that is born very small and underdeveloped. They crawl into their mother’s pouch and finish growing to full size there!
Then there are even odder mammals called monotremes. These mammals actually LAY EGGS. There are two kinds of monotremes that live in Australia: the duck-billed platypus, and the echidna (also known as the spiny anteater).
Finally, there are some very large flightless birds in Australia: the emu and the cassowary. They’re HUGE!
In this video, you’ll learn more about each of these interesting animals like what they eat and how they have families.

Here you can jump to each kind of Australian animal:
0:16 Koala
1:08 Dingo
2:02 Kangaroo
3:07 Tasmanian Devil
4:07 Wombat
5:17 Wallaby
6:21 Quokka
7:23 Duck-Billed Platypus
8:44 Emu
10:00 Cassowary
11:20 Echidna

There are lots of different activities to complete on Purplemash as usual. :-) 

Contact the Class Teacher